Primary tabs

By Their Works Ye Shall Know Them.


September 24, 1858.

The republican leaders of central and southern Illinois are now actively engaged in endeavoring to persuade national men whose votes they seek, that Lincoln and his friends are not advocates of negro equality; yet they seek to reverse the Dred Scott decision, which would break down all the state barriers to negro citizenship. The clause in our state constitution requiring the Legislature to pass laws prohibiting the emigration of blacks and mulatoes into the state, was but carrying out in advance the doctrine of the Dred Scott decision; and a reversal of that decision, as desired by Mr. Lincoln, would effectually annul that clause in our state constitution, and render nugatory the laws passed under it. But he decision of the Supreme Court of the U. S. having rendered that clause in our constitution legal; the republicans are now in favor of rendering the constitutional provision inoperative, by repealing the black and mulatto law, passed under it. They made this movement soon after the Dred Scott decision was declared, no longer ago than during the last session of the Legislature.

In the Journal of the Illinois House of Representatives of the Session of 1857, Jan 13th, page 91, we find the following:
"Mr. Lawrence [Republican] introduced a bill for "an act to repeal chapter seventy-four of the revised statues, entitled "Negroes and Mulattoes;" which was read a first time.

"Mr. Moulton [democrat,] moved to lay the bill on the table.

"They yeas and nays were called for, and it was decided in the affirmative. — Yeas, 46. Nays 28."

Those voting in the affirmative are:
Messrs. Anderson, Bane, Burke, Burns, Casey, Chatfield, Christy, Connelly, Dougherty, Dykes, Epler, Erwin, Gorin, Goudy, Gregory, Grimes, Hire, Hitt, Huitt, Ingersoll, Jones, Kerly, Logan, Mason, Megredy, Morrison, Moulton, Osborn, Preston, Reading, Ricks, Roman, Shallenberger, Sloan, Sparks, Stipp, Trail, Tyner, Watt, Whiting, Wickizer, Wilkins, Willard, Wilson, Wyche, Mr. Speaker.

Those voting in the negative are:
Messrs. Arnold, Baldwin, Blades, Boal, Burbank, Church, Crothers, Cullum, Davis of Stephenson, Denlo, Dunham, Eustace, Frisbie, Gilbert, Jarrot, Kelsey, Lathrop, Lawrence, Lindsey, Little, Morgan, Morris, Mueler, Parker, Pinckney, Radcliff, Smitt, Wheeler.

Every democrat and American voted to lay the bill on the table, and every republican, with two or three exceptions, voted against it.