Primary tabs


The Convention.

The Convention to amend the Constitution, met at 11 o'clock, yesterday, and organized temporarily by calling Col. John Dement to the Chair, and appointing J. W. Sheahan, Esq., Secretary pro temp. the names of the delegates were then called, and upon presenting their credentials they were sworn by Judge Breese to "support the Constitution of the United States, and to faithfully discharge their duties as members of the Convention." The point was also raised that they should also swear to support "the Constitution of the State;" but the majority decided, after some discussion, that that instrument was not obligatory upon them; that the Convention was sovereign and not "subject to the Constitution." The Convention then adjourned till 2 P.M.

In the afternoon the Convention proceeded to elect permanent officers, as follows:
President, W. A. Hacker; Secretary, Wm. M. Springer; Assistant Secretary, John W. Merritt; Sergeant-at-Arms, John Schell; Assistant Sergeant-at-Arms, Wm. Sands; Postmaster, Robert Burton.

A resolution was adopted appointing a committee to inquire and report the probable expense of employing stereographers to take down and print in full the proceedings of the Convention.

A motion was made to proceed to the election of a printer to the Convention, but upon suggestion that the act calling the Convention, provided the manner in which the printing should be done and that such election would interfere with and impair an existing contract, the matter was referred to a committee to examine the question.

The delegates then proceeded to draw for seats and after some other unimportant business, the Convention adjourned until 10 o'clock this morning.