Primary tabs

Rhode-Island Assembly



At the General Assembly of the Governour and Company of the English Colony of Rhode-Island, and Providence Plantations, in New-England, in America, begun and holden at Providence, within and for the said Colony, on the first Wednesday in May, in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and seventy-five, and fifteenth of the reign of His Most Sacred Majesty George the Third, by the grace of God, King of Great Britain, and so forth:

Present: The Honourable Darius Sessions, esq˙, Deputy-Governour: John Collins, Esq˙; David Harris, Esq˙; John Sayles, Jun˙, Esq˙; Thomas Wickes, Esq˙; Jonathan Randall,Esq˙; William Richmond, Esq˙; Assistants. The Secretary.

Deputies from the several Towns.

NEWPORT — Mr˙ John Wanton (son of Gideon,)

PROVIDENCE. — Stephen Hopkins, esq˙, Mr˙ John Jenckes, Mr˙ John Smith, Colonel John Mathewson.

PORTSMOUTH — Metcalf Bowler, esq˙, Jonathan Freeborn, esq˙, Mr˙ Job Durfee,

WARWICK — Mr˙ Jacob Greene, Mr˙ Thomas Holden, Mr˙ John LOW,

WESTERLY. — Joshua Babcock, Esq.



NORTH-KINGSTOWN. — John Northup, Esquire, Sylvester Gardner, Esq.

SOUTH-KINGSTOWN. — John Potter, Esquire, Mr˙ Carder Hazard.

EAST-GREENWICH. — Mr˙ Job Gardner, Mr˙ Allen Johnson.

JAMESTOWN. — (None.)

SMITHFIELD. — Daniel Mowry, Jun˙, esq˙, Stephen Whippie, Esq.

SCITUATE. — Ezekiel Cornell, esq˙, Mr˙ Rufus Hopkins.

GLOUCESTER. — Silas Williams, esq˙, Mr˙ Daniel Owen.

CHARLESTOWN. — Joseph Hoxsie, esq˙, Mr˙ Samuel Kinyon,

WEST-GREENWICH. — William Nichols, Esquire, Thomas Gorton, Esq.

COVENTRY. — John Rice, esq˙, Mr˙ Nathaniel Greene, Jun.

EXETER. — George Pierce, esq˙, Jeffrey Wilcox, Esq.


BRISTOL. — Major-General Simeon Potter, William Bradford, Esq.

TIVERTON. — Captain John Cooke,

LITTLE-COMPTON. — Captain Thomas Brownell, William Richmond, Esq.

WARREN. — Mr˙ Cromwel Child.

CUMBERLAND. — John Dexter, esq˙, Jeremiah Whipple, Esq.

RICHMOND. — George Webb, esq˙, Mr˙ Richard Bailey, Jr.


CRANSTON. — Captain Richard Searle, Mr˙ William Field.

HOPKINTON. — Captain Abel Tanner, Mr˙ Thomas Wells, the 3d.

JOHNSTON. — Mr˙ Emmor Olney, Mr˙ Ebenezer Sprague.

NORTH-PROVIDENCE. — Mr˙ Joseph Olney, Major Thomas Olney.

BARRINGTON. — Col. Nathan' l Martin, Mr˙ Thomas Allen.

The Honourable Metcalf Bowler, esq˙, was chosen Speaker, and Josias Lyndon, esq˙, Clerk of the Lower House.

The Company of Light-Infantry in the Town of Newport having made choice of the following Officers, and made return of them to the Governour and Council, to wit:

Jabez Champlin, Captain; Charles Spooner, First-Lieutenant; Philip Moss, Second-Lieutenant; Samuel Spooner, Ensign;

Upon consideration whereof,

It is Voted and Resolved by the Council, That the said Officers be, and they are hereby, approved.