Primary tabs

York County (Pennsylvania) Committee



On the 3d of November, 1775, the Returns of twenty-six Townships were received at York, whereby the following gentlemen appear to be chosen as a Committee for York County, to continue for the space of one year, unless they shall think it expedient to dissolve themselves sooner, viz:

Michael Swoopa,
James Smith,
Thomas Hartly,
John Hay,
Charles Lukens,
David Grier,
Joseph Donaldson,
George Irwin,
John Koan,
William Lease,
William Scott,
Georgo Eicholberger,
Philip Albright,
Michael Hahn,
David Candler,
Bultzer Spangler,
John Huston,
Thomas Armor,
John Schultz,
Christopher Slagle,
Andrew Rutter,
Peter Wolfe,
Philip Jacob King,
Zachariah Shugart,
John Horbach,
William Johnston,
John Spangler,
James Dixon,
Francis Crezart,
George Brenkerhooff,
John Semple,
Robert McPherson,
Samuel Edie,
Williim McClellan,
Thomas Douglass,
John Agnew,
David Kennedy,
George Clingen,
Csorgc Korr,
Abraham Banta,
John Mickle, Jun˙,
Sam' l McConaughy,
David McConaughy,
John Blackburn,
William Walker,
Richard McAlister,
Christian Graff,
Jacob Will,
Henry Slagle,
John Hamilton,
John Minteeth,
Thomas Lilly,
Richard Pursel,
Charles Gilwix,
John McClure,
William Shakly,
Frederick Gilwix,
John Hinkel,
John Hoover,
Patrick McSherry,
James Lseper,
Joseph Read,
Patrick Scott,
James Egar,
Benjamin Savage,
Andrew Thompson,
Peter Baker,
Jacob Kasel,
William Mitchell,
John Williams,
Lewis Williams,
William Rankin,
James Nailer,
Baltzor Kuertzer,
Henry Mathias,
George Slough,
Daniel Messerle,
John Nesbit,
William Wakely,
John Chamberlin,
Andrew Thompson,
Alexander Sanderson.

On the same day, the Committee met at the Court-House in York, when James Smith was chosen President, and Thomas Hartly Vice-President of the Committee.

The following gentlemen were unanimously elected as a Committee of Correspondence for York County, viz: James Smith, Michael Swoope, Thomas Hartly, Joseph Donaldson, George Eichelberger, Charles Lukens, David Grier, George Irwin, Thomas Armor, William Lease, George Clingen, John Nesbit, James Leeper, Francis Crezart, Peter Wolfe, and David McConaughy; and five or more of them are empowered to act.

The Committee-Men in York Town, or any two or more of them, were appointed to carry into execution the orders of the Committee of Safety, relating to the person of Dr˙ John Kearsley, now confined in the Jail of this County, and were fully empowered to act in this matter.

The Committee adjourned to the first Thursday in December next, to meet at the Court-House in York.