Primary tabs

Proportion of the Flying Camp to be furnished by the several Counties, respectively, Thomas Johnson elected Brigadier-General to command the Flying Camp, Field Officers for the Flying Camp


Thursday, June 27, 1776.

Convention met. All Members present as on yesterday, except Mr˙ J˙ Tilghman, absent on account of the indisposition of one of his children. The Proceedings of yesterday were read.

A Petition from Robert Long, of Baltimore County, and a Representation from John Clapham and William Eddis, of the City of Annapolis, were read, and ordered to lie on the table.

Mr˙ Hall appeared in the House.

On motion, Resolved, That the proportion of Militia to be furnished by this Province for the Flying-Camp be composed of one Company from St˙ Mary' s County, two Companies from Charles, one from Culvert, three from Prince George' s, five from Anne Arundel, nine from Frederick, four from Baltimore, two from Harford, two from Cecil, two from Kent, two from Queen Anne' s, one from Talbot, and two from Caroline, to consist of one Captain, two Lieutenants, one Ensign, four Sergeants, four Corporals, one Drummer, one Fifer, and seventy-six Privates; and one Company from Dorchester County, to be composed of one Captain, three Lieutenants, four Sergeants, four Corporals, one Drummer, one Fifer, and ninety-six Privates.

The Convention proceeded to the election of Officers for the Militia to be raised for the Flying-Camp.

Mr˙ Thomas Johnson, Jun˙, was elected Brigadier-General to command the said Militia.

For the Battalion to be raised in Frederick County, Mr˙ Otho Holland Williams Colonel, Mr˙ Charles Greenbury Griffith Lieutenant-Colonel, and Mr˙ Henry Shryock Major.

Adjourned till three o' clock.

Post Meridiem. Convention met, and resumed the election of Officers.

For the Battalion to be raised on the Eastern-Shore, Mr˙ James Kent was elected Colonel, Mr˙ Joseph Earle Lieutenant-Colonel, and Mr˙ William Hopewell Major.

For the lower Battalion, to be raised on the Western-Shore, Mr˙ John Dent was appointed Colonel, Mr˙ John Addison Lieutenant-Colonel, and Mr˙ James Eden Major.

For the upper Battalion, Mr˙ Josiah Carvil Hall was elected Colonel.

The Convention adjourns till to-morrow morning, nine o' clock.