Primary tabs

Officers of the Flying Camp elected, Committee to examine the Accounts of the Supervisors of Saltpetre Works Resolution empowering the Council of Safety to contract for building a Powder-Mill on the publick account, repealed


Saturday, June 29, 1776.

Convention met. All Members present as on yesterday, except Mr˙ Gantt. The Proceedings of yesterday were read.

On motion, Resolved, That the Bills of Credit issued by the Congress, and the Conventions of this Province, be received by the Commissioners of the Loan Office in payment of any interest due to the said Office.

Ordered, That the above Resolution be published in the Maryland Gazette.

The Convention resumed the election of Officers. Mr˙ William Hyde was elected Lieutenant-Colonel of the upper Battalion on the Western-Shore, and Dr˙ John Cradock Major.

For the Company to be raised in St˙ Mary' s County, Uriah Forrest was appointed Captain, William Bond First Lieutenant, Moses Tabbs Second Lieutenant, and Edward Mattingly Ensign.

For the Companies in Charles County. Thomas Hanson Captain, George Dent (third) First Lieutenant, Samuel Jones Second Lieutenant, and William Adams Ensign. Belain Posey Captain, Henry Boarman First Lieutenant, John Forbes Second Lieutenant, and Gerard Fowke Ensign.

Calvert. John Brooke Captain, Frederick Skinner First Lieutenant, Nathaniel Wilson Second Lieutenant, and James Somerville Ensign.

Prince George' s. John Hawkins Lowe Captain, John Magruder Burgess First Lieutenant, William Duvall, Second


Lieutenant, and Horatio Claggett Ensign. Robert Bowie Captain, Benjamin Brooks First Lieutenant, William Dent Beall Second Lieutenant, and Colmore Beans, Ensign. Alexander Howard Magruder Captain, William Sprigg Bowie First Lieutenant, Benjamin Contee Second Lieutenant, and Alexander Truman Ensign.

Anne Arundel County. Edward Norwood Captain, Samuel Godman First Lieutenant, John W˙ Dorsey Second Lieutenant, and Richard Talbot Ensign. Edward Tillard Captain, Samuel Lloyd Chew First Lieutenant, John Sprigg Belt Second Lieutenant, and John Gassaway Ensign. Daniel Dorsey Captain, Joseph Burgess First Lieutenant, John Lorah Second Lieutenant, and Michael Burgess Ensign. James Disney Captain, Henry Ridgely First Lieutenant, Jonathan Sellman Second Lieutenant, and Edward Spurrier Ensign. Thomas Hammond Captain, Thomas Mayo First Lieutenant, Joshua Merriken Second Lieutenant, and Andrew Hammond Ensign.

Frederick. Lower District. Edward Burgess Captain, John Gaither First Lieutenant, Thaddeus Beall Second Lieutenant, and Thomas Edmondson Ensign. Leonard Deakins Captain, Thomas Nowland First Lieutenant, Elisha Williams Second Lieutenant, and John Griffith Ensign. Benjamin Spyker Captain, Greenbury Gaither First Lieutenant, Richard Anderson Second Lieutenant, and Nicholas Seybert Ensign.

Middle District. Philip Meroney Captain, Elisha Beall First Lieutenant, John Hellen Second Lieutenant, and William Beatty, Jun˙, Ensign. Jacob Good Captain, John Baptist Thompson First Lieutenant, John Ghiselin Second Lieutenant, and John Smith Ensign. Peter Mantz Captain, Adam Grosh First Lieutenant, Peter Adams Second Lieutenant, and John Richardson Ensign.

Upper District. AEneas Campbell Captain, Clement Hollyday First Lieutenant, John Courts Jones Second Lieutenant, and David Lynn Ensign. John Reynolds Captain, Moses Chapline First Lieutenant, Christian Orendorff Second Lieutenant, and Nathan Williams Ensign. Henry Hardman Captain, Daniel Stuff First Lieutenant, Peter Contee Hanson Second Lieutenant, and John Rench Ensign.

Baltimore, Zachariah Maecubbin Captain, Thomas Yates First Lieutenant, John Christie Second Lieutenant, and Thomas Lingan Ensign. John E˙ Howard Captain, Thomas Lansdale First Lieutenant, William Riley Second Lieutenant, and Robert Morrow Ensign. John Stevenson Captain, Edward Oldham First Lieutenant, James Ogleby Second Lieutenant, and Joseph Lewis Ensign. James Young Captain, James Bond First Lieutenant, John Smith Second Lieutenant, and James Tool Ensign.

Harford. Aquila Paca Captain, John Beedle Hall First Lieutenant, Michael Gilbert Second Lieutenant, and John Patterson Ensign. Bennet Bussey Captain, Joshua Miles First Lieutenant, Asahel Hitchcock Second Lieutenant, and Aquila Amos Ensign.

Cecil. Joshua George Captain, William Veazey, (third) First Lieutenant, John Stockton Second Lieutenant, and Richard Bird Ensign. Walter Alexander Captain, Andrew Porter, Jun˙, First Lieutenant, Harmon Arrants Second Lieutenant, and George Hamilton Ensign.

Kent. Isaac Perkins Captain, Abraham Falconer First Lieutenant, Jesse Cozden Second Lieutenant, and James Henry Ensign. Thomas Smyth Captain, James Williamson First Lieutenant, Nathaniel Kinnard Second Lieutenant, and Josiah Johnson Ensign.

Queen Anne' s. John Dean Captain, John Hawkins First Lieutenant, John Neville Second Lieutenant, and Samuel Earle Ensign. John Dames Captain, Thomas Lane Emory First Lieutenant, Samuel Wright Thomas Second Lieutenant, and John Jackson Ensign.

Talbot. Greenbury Goldsborough Captain, Woolman Gibson (son of John) First Lieutenant, John Thomas, Jun˙, Second Lieutenant, and Perry Benson of (James) Ensign.

Caroline. Zabdiel Potter Captain, Thomas Wyer Lockerman First Lieutenant, Levin Handy Second Lieutenant, and Philip Casson Ensign. Philip Fiddeman Captain, Henry Downes, Jun˙, First Lieutenant, John Reynolds Second Lieutenant, and Thomas Mason Ensign.

Dorchester. Thomas Burk Captain, Berkit Falcon First Lieutenant, John Lynch Second Lieutenant, and James Woolford Gray Third Lieutenant.


On motion, Resolved, That a Committee be appointed to examine the Accounts of the Supervisors of Saltpetre Works, and report thereon ; and that Mr˙ T˙ Johnson, Mr˙ Rumsey, Mr˙ Ringgold, Mr˙ Gilpin, Mr˙ Hooper, and Mr˙ Hooe, be a Committee for that purpose.

On motion, Resolved, That so much of the former Resolutions of Convention as directs or empowers the Council of Safety to contract for the building or working a Powder-Mill on the publick account, be repealed.

On motion, Resolved, That the Council of Safety be authorized to advance the further sum of £5,000 to such persons as they shall think proper, for the purpose of purchasing good and effective Fire-Arms, on the terms and agreeable to such orders as they may think will best procure the same.

On reading and considering a Memorial from Francis Baker, of Talbot County, praying a remission of that part of the sentence pronounced against him by this Convention in its session of December last, forbidding him "to offer himself for any office of trust,"

Resolved, That the same be granted.

On motion, Resolved, That the Council of Safety be authorized to cause Muskets found by the Militia, or borrowed or purchased, without Bayonets, iron Ramrods, Priming-wires, Belts, or Scabbards, to be fitted therewith; and to furnish each Private with a Cartridge-box containing twenty-three rounds, six Flints, one Blanket, one Knapsack, with a Haversack, and a Canteen or wooden Bottle to hold one quart, and to give such orders as they may think will best furnish the Militia with Provisions and Baggage Wagons on their march.

Adjourned till four o' clock.

Post Meridiem. Convention met.

Mr˙ Samuel Edmondson was elected Quartermaster of the Battalion of Militia to be raised on the Eastern-Shore; Mr˙ William Parran, Quartermaster of the lower Battalion on the Western-Shore; and Mr˙ Isaac Griest, Quartermaster of the upper Battalion.