Primary tabs

Committee to Inquire


In Committee of Safety, May 14, 1776.

Present: George Clymer, Chairman, Owen Biddle, Samuel Morris, Thomas Wharton, Jun˙, James Biddle, Joseph Parker, Samuel Howell, Robert White, John Cadwallader.


The Congress sent yesterday the following Resolve to this Board, which is ordered to be entered on the Minutes: "In Congress, May 10, 1776.

"Resolved, That it be recommended to the Committee of Safety of Pennsylvania to examine into the conduct of the Jailer who had the charge and custody of Moses Kirkland, and if they find him culpable, that they have him removed.

"Extract from the Minutes:


Resolved, That George Gray, Samuel Howell, and Joseph Parker, be a Committee to inquire into the complaint of Congress against Thomas Dewees, Jailer, and make report to this Board.