Primary tabs

Lancaster (Pennsylvania) Committee


Saturday, October 26, 1776.

Present: Lancaster — Lodwick Lowman, Jacob Krug, Casper Shaffner, Adam Reigart, John Miller.
Lancaster Township — Andrew Graff, Mathias Slough.
Hempfield — Robert Spear.
Manheim — Sebastian Graff.
Mannor — Jacob Rubley.
Conestogo — William Atlee, Michael Haverstick.
Martiek — John McMullen.
Dromore — William Mclntire, John Smiley.
Leacock — James Crawford.
Strasburgh — John Breckbill, Eberhart Gruber.
Lampiter — John Witmer, Jun.
Salisbury — Isaac McCammont, Archibald Henderson.
Warwick — Jacob Erb.
Elizabeth — George Hoyle, Cocolico
Carnavon — David Jenkins, Henry Weaver.
Lebanon — John Light.
Bethel — Casper Kore.
Hanover — William Cathcart.
Paxtang — William Brown, John Harris.


Derry — William Laird, Daniel Elliot.
Londonderry — Jacob Cook.
Donegal — Alexander Lowery, Bartram Galbreath,
Mountjoy — John Jamison.
Rapho — James Patterson, Jacob Haldiman, Joseph Little.
Coleraine — Gabriel Morrison, Richard Ferree.
Little Brittian — Samuel Scott, Francis Armstrong, William Gillereat.
Sadsbury — Isaac Irwin, William Gay, Jun.
Bart — Andrew Work, Jun˙, John Shannon.
Upper Paxtang

William Atlee in the chair.

Ordered, That Mr˙ Slough pay to Gabriel Morrison, Daniel McConnel and Richard Ferree, reasonable carriage for bringing the Blankets collected by them for the Provincial troops to Lancaster, and that he pay to Francis Armstrong and William Gillereat reasonable carriage for bringing the Blankets, collected by them for the Provincial troops, to Lancaster.

Ordered, That Mr˙ Slough pay to such other members of this Committee, as have collected Blankets for the publick use, reasonable carriage for bringing them to Lancaster; and Mr˙ Lowman, Mr˙ Bowsman, and Mr˙ Shaffner, or any two of them, are appointed to consider and settle the sums to be paid to the persons who shall apply for carriage as aforesaid.

Captain John McKenzie, a prisoner of war on his parole, produced a paper signed by Richard Peters, Secretary at War, mentioning that he hath permission to reside in Donegal Township, in this County.