Primary tabs

Meeting of Freeholders of Newark, in Essex County, New-Jersey



Pursuant to the eleventh Article of the Association entered into by the late Continental Congress, held at Philadelphia, at a meeting of the Freeholders of the Township of Newark, in the County of Essex, at the Court House, on Wednesday, the 7th of December, 1774,

JOSEPH BRIGGS, Jun˙, Esq˙, in the Chair:

After a proper introduction to the business of the day, the following persons were unanimously chosen as a Committee of Observation for the Town aforesaid, viz: Joseph Allen, Esq˙, Garrabrant Garrabrant, Esquire, Caleb Camp, Bethuel Pierson, John Range, Solomon Davis, Doctor Matthias Pierson, Samuel Pennington, Joseph Hedden, Jun˙, Daniel Cundict, John Earle, John Spear, Moses Farrand, David Cundict, Esq˙, John Peck, Joseph Lyon, Thomas Cadmus, Jun˙, Abraham Lyon, James Wheeler, Ichabod Harrison, Jonathan Sayer, Robert Johnston, Robert Neil, Junior.