Primary tabs

Committees of Wilmington District, North-Carolina



At a general meeting of the several Committees of the District of Wilmington, held at the Court-House in Wilmington, Tuesday, the 20th June, 1775:

Resolved, That the following Association stand as the Association of this Committee, and that it be recommended to the inhabitants of this District to sign the same as speedily as possible.


The actual commencement of hostilities against the Continent by the British Troops, in the bloody scene on the nineteenth of April last, near Boston; the increase of arbitrary impositions, from a wicked and despotick Ministry; and the dread of instigated insurrections in the Colonies, are causes sufficient to drive an oppressed People to the use of arms: We, therefore, the subscribers of Cumberland County, holding ourselves bound by that most sacred of all obligations, the duty of good citizens towards an injured Country, and thoroughly convinced that under our distressed circumstances we shall be justified before you in resisting force by force; do unite ourselves under every tie of religion and honour, and associate as a band in her defence against every foe; hereby solemnly engaging, that whenever our Continental or Provincial Councils shall decree it necessary, we will go forth and be ready to sacrifice our lives and fortunes to secure her freedom and safety. This obligation to continue in full force until, a reconciliation shall take place between Great Britain and America, upon constitutional principles, an event we most ardently desire. And we will hold all those persons inimical to the liberty of the Colonies who shall refuse to subscribe to this Association; and we will in all things follow the advice of our General Committee, respecting the purposes aforesaid, the preservation of peace and good order, and the safety of individual and private property.

Robert Rowan,
Peter Messer, Sam˙ Hollingsworth,
Maurice Nowlan,
Thomas Cabein,
John Glendenin,
Theophilus Evans,
Daniel Douse,
William Carver,
Joseph DE Lesline,
James Dick,
James Edmunds,
John Overler,
John Stephenson,
John Carraway,
Micajah Terrell,
William Bathgate,
William Herin,
John Wilson,
Charles Stevens,
David Evans,
Thomas Rae,
John Parker,
James Gee,
James Emmitt,
Walter Murray,
Benjamin Elwell,
Aaron Varden,
William Gillespie,
William White,
Oners West,
Philip Herin,
Joseph Greer,
George Fletcher,
Robert Varner,
Thomas White,
James Pearl,
John Elwell,
John Jones,
Lewis Barge,
David Dunn,
Robert Council,
Martin Leonard,
Simon Bandy,
James Giffy,
Thomas Moody,
Robert Greer,
Robert Carver,
Arthur Council,
Joshua Hadley,
Samuel Carver,
David Shephard,
William Blocker,
George Barnes.