Primary tabs

June 21,Convention met at Annapolis, Committee on a Letter from the President of Congress, with the Resolutions of 1st, 3d and 4th of June, Deputies of Maryland in Congress desired to get permission to attend the Convention; but not to leave the Congress before an order is passed postponing the consideration of Independence, foreign alliance, and a Confederation, until the Maryland Delegates can attend the Congress



At a Convention of Delegates for the Province of Maryland, at the City of Annapolis, on Friday, the 21st of June, 1776.

Present: The Honourable Matthew Tilghman, Esquire, President.

FOR ST˙ MARY' S COUNTY. — Richard Barnes, George Plater, Athanasius Ford.

FOR CHARLES. — Robert T˙ Hooe, Joseph H˙ Harrison.

FOR CALVERT. — Alexander Somerville, Edward Gantt, Patrick Sim Smith, William Allein.

FOR PRINCE GEORGE' S. — Joseph Sim, Thomas Contee.

FOR ANNE ARUNDEL. — Charles Carroll, Barrister, Thomas Johnson, Jun˙, Samuel Chase.

MIDDLE. — Charles Beatty, Baker Johnson.
UPPER. — John Stull, William Baird.

FOR BALTIMORE. — Jeremiah T˙ Chase.

FOR HARFORD. — Thomas Bond, Richard Dallam.

FOR KENT. — Robert Buchanan, P˙ Letherbury, Emory Sudler, William Sluby.

FOR QUEEN ANNE' S. — James Hollyday, Turbutt Wright, Richard T˙ Earle, James Tilghman.

FOR TALBOT. — Nicholas Thomas, Pollard Edmondson.

FOR DORCHESTER. — Robert Goldsborough, Henry Hooper, James Murray, W˙ Ennalls.

FOR CAROLINE. — William Richardson, Richard Mason.

FOR SOMERSET. — George Dashiell, Gustavus Scott, Peter Waters.

FOR WORCESTER. — Peter Chaille, Samuel Handy, Joseph Dashiell.

A Letter from the President of the Congress, together with Resolutions of the 1st, 3d, and 4th of June, were laid before the Convention, and read.

Ordered, That the same be referred to a Committee, to report their opinion thereon; and Mr˙ T˙ Johnson, Mr˙ Hollyday, Mr˙ S˙ Chase, Mr˙ Goldsborough, and Mr˙ Plater, were elected by ballot a Committee for that purpose.

A Memorial from John Weston, of Baltimore County, was read, and ordered to lie on the table. On motion, Resolved, That the President of the Convention inform the Deputies of this Province in Congress that their attendance in Convention is desired; and that they move Congress for permission to attend here, but that they do not leave the Congress without such permission, and without first having obtained an order that the consideration of the questions of Independence, foreign alliance, and a further Confederation of the Colonies, shall be postponed until Deputies from this Province can attend Congress, which shall be as soon as possible.

Adjourned till four o' clock.

Post Meridiem. Convention met. Mr˙ Veazey, Mr˙ Gilpin, Mr˙ Ewing, Mr˙ Thompson, Mr˙ Beall, Mr˙ Lloyd, and Mr˙ Jordan, appeared in the House.

A Petition from William Hindman, Treasurer of the Eastern-Shore, was read, and ordered to lie on the table.

A Petition from Barton Tabbs, of Calvert County, praying an exemption from mustering, was read a first and second time.

Resolved, That the same be rejected.

On reading a second time the Petition from William Hindman, Treasurer of the Eastern-Shore,

Resolved, That Alexander Irvine, and Charles Irvine, of Talbot County, be added to the signers of Bills of Credit.

Convention adjourns till to-morrow morning, nine o' clock.