Primary tabs

Oath taken by the Commissioners of the Navy Board



Charlestown, South-Carolina, Wednesday, October 9, 1776.

In pursuance of an act of the General Assembly, passed the 4th October, 1776, the following Commissioners appointed by the said act, viz: Edward Blake, Thomas Corbett, Thomas Savage, Josiah Smith, Jun˙, Roger Smith, George Abbott Hall, and George Smith, to superintend and direct the Naval affairs of this State, met, and previous to their forming a Board, took the following Oath of Qualification, viz:

"I do swear that I will well and truly execute the duties of my office as a Commissioner of the Navy Board, to the best of my skill and judgment. So help me God."

The Commissioners then proceeded to the election of the First Commissioner, and Edward Blake, Esq˙, was by a majority of votes chosen First Commissioner of the Navy, and took his seat accordingly.