Primary tabs

All the Ministers in the City


Mr˙ McDougall moved, and was seconded by Mr˙ Gilbert Livingston, that two Members of this Congress be directed to apply to all the Ministers in this City, who can pray in English, and to request them to make such an arrangement among themselves as will enable them alternately to open the Congress every morning with prayer; which was agreed to and ordered accordingly; and

Ordered, That Mr˙ Beckman and Mr˙ Brasher be a Committee for that purpose.

The following gentlemen dissented, viz: Colonel Lispenard, Mr˙ John Van Cortlandt, Mr˙ Roosevelt, Mr˙ Micheau Mr˙ Walton, Mr˙ Cortelyou, Mr˙ Conner, Mr˙ Journey, Mr˙ Low, Mr˙ Richard Yates, Mr˙ Gouverneur Morris, Mr˙ Lewis Graham, Colonel Van Cortlandt, Mr˙ Verplanck, Mr˙ De Lancey Mr˙ Franklin, Mr˙ Clowes, Mr˙ Cuyler, Colonel Holmes, Mr˙ Ward, and Mr˙ Thomas.

The Congress then adjourned to this place at nine o' clock to-morrow morning.