Home >> About >> NIUDL Team


The Northern Illinois University Digital Library (NIUDL) is created and maintained by staff in the Technical Services Department and Internal Scanning Unit at Founders Memorial Library. Team members provide metadata and website development, digital preservation, and imaging services.

Matthew Short, Metadata Librarian, is the web developer, system administrator, and metadata and digital asset manager for NIUDL. He created and manages the Nickels and Dimes project and developed the NIUDL website. Matt has a MLIS and C.A.S. in Digital Libraries from the University of Illinois. His research interests include linked data, text mining, and late nineteenth century popular fiction.

Christian Lash, Metadata Assistant, works with the Metadata Librarian to create and manage non-MARC metadata and prepares files for publishing to NIUDL. They have a B.S. in Child Development and Graduate Certificate in LGBT Studies from NIU, and will soon be pursuing an MLIS from the University of Illinois. 

Brian Conant, Digital Scanning Coordinator, is responsible for managing the Internal Scanning Unit and oversees scanning and processing. He has an M.F.A. from Northern Illinois University.

Digital Collections Advisory Committee

The Digital Collections Advisory Committee is charged with strategic planning, project development, and publicity for NIUDL. Current members include:

Jana Brubaker, Acting Associate Dean, Collections and Technical Services

Matthew Short, Metadata Librarian

Lynne Thomas, Curator, Rare Books and Special Collections

Cindy Ditzler, University Archivst and Director, Regional History Center and University Archives 

Hao Phan, Curator, South East Asia Collection

Drew VandeCreek, Director, Digital Humanities Projects

Jaime Schumacher, Senior Director, Digital Collections & Scholarship

Past Team Members

NIU has been involved in digitization projects for nearly two decades. Previous team members include:

Stacey Erdman, Digital Collections Curator

Tara Dirst, Technical Coordinator

Anitha Paruchuri, Web Developer

Nathan Books, System Administrator

Charles Larry, Graphic Designer

Maria Dimanschtein, Graphic Designer

Jennifer Erbach, Curriculum Designer

Chris Freiler, Curriculum Developer

Matt Dotson, Recording Engingeer